What does it take to be a rural real estate agent?
  • 11 Dec 2023
  • 4 min read
  • By Claire Ryan

REIQ appoints regional voices for the real estate profession

Zone chairs, Queensland regions

The Real Estate Institute of Queensland (REIQ) is today announcing the appointment of 16 Zone Chairs, who lend their voice and local insights to Queensland’s largest real estate markets.

Zone Chairs fulfil a vital role for the REIQ, representing the organisation at a local level and ensuring the Queensland peak body keeps its finger on the pulse throughout the state.

REIQ CEO Antonia Mercorella congratulated the incoming Zone Chairs for the two-year term from 2024-2025, who officially commence their roles on 1 January 2024.

“Queensland has such a highly decentralised population, and so by nature is home to a series of quite different real estate markets,” Ms Mercorella said.

“Just as the Brisbane market doesn’t necessarily mirror Sydney or Melbourne, we recognise that what’s happening in Queensland’s south-east corner real estate market won’t always be the case in regional markets.

“That’s why we ensure all of Queensland’s major real estate markets have local representation, providing first-hand perspective and insight about the sales and rental markets.

“Importantly, our Zone Chairs are the local face of the REIQ throughout Queensland, and provide boots-on-the-ground representation for our members in all corners of our state.

“They are an integral part of the chain, representing their real estate community’s needs to us and sharing our vision with our members.

“I’m thrilled to announce the REIQ Zone Chair cohort for 2024-25 – our local ambassadors and regional voices for the real estate profession.”

REIQ Zone Chairs 2024-25:

  • Brisbane Northern Suburbs: Samantha Ellis (first term)
  • Brisbane Southern Suburbs/Logan: Christie Smith (first term)
  • Brisbane Eastern Suburbs: Julie Harris
  • Brisbane Western Suburbs: Peter May (first term)
  • Bundaberg: Kirralea Whittle
  • Caboolture/Redcliffe: Scott Lachmund (first term)
  • Cairns: Tom Quaid
  • Fraser Coast: Kim Carter
  • Gladstone: Celina Solis (first term)
  • Gold Coast: Andrew Henderson
  • Ipswich: Andrew Kenman
  • Mackay: Allison Cunningham
  • Rockhampton: Noel Livingston
  • Sunshine Coast: Matt Diesel
  • Toowoomba/Darling Downs: Daniel Burrett
  • Townsville: Benjamin Kingsberry

The REIQ thanks the following former, outgoing Zone Chairs for their dedication and support during their tenures:

  • Brendan Whipps (Brisbane Northern Suburbs) – two terms,
  • Rebecca Herbst (Brisbane Southern Suburbs/Logan) – two terms,
  • Kirrilli Cobley (Brisbane Western Suburbs),
  • James Brown (Caboolture/Redcliffe) – two terms, and
  • Alicia Williams (Gladstone) – spanning three terms.


Media enquiries:

Claire Ryan, Media and Stakeholder Relations Manager, The Real Estate Institute of Queensland
M: 0417 623 723 E: media@reiq.com.au

Read another media release from the REIQ: Real estate professionals armed with Cyber Resilience Toolkit.

Or browse our suite of media releases.

Start your Real Estate Career

Our approach to training is career focussed to support all members of the profession. 

From accredited training to start your career to upskilling courses that advance your career, the REIQ keeps you a real step ahead.

Need help? 1300 697 347 or contact us