REIQ names best of the profession for 2018

Felicity Moore

A record-breaking fourth title win for REIQ Auctioneer of the Year Justin Nickerson has led this year’s REIQ Awards for Excellence as more than 700 real estate professionals gathered to recognise the elite in their field at the Brisbane Royal International Convention Centre (RNA) last night (3.03.18).

The win is the third consecutive win for Mr Nickerson and the fourth overall (2013, 2016, 2017, 2018) and cements his position as Australasia’s leading auctioneer.

Accepting his Award Mr Nickerson said it was an honour to reach this milestone.

“It’s really humbling and I’m incredibly proud to reach this pinnacle in my career.

“I’d also like to congratulate the REIQ on hosting these awards, which clearly mean so much to our members. It’s a real feather in the cap to win an REIQ Award,” Mr Nickerson said.

“We are all striving to be part of a professional industry that delivers outstanding customer service and the work the REIQ does is an important part how we are seen by the public.”

REIQ CEO Antonia Mercorella said the Awards for Excellence showcased those real estate professionals who had achieved outstanding results to rise to a level above their peers.

“To achieve at this level requires enormous commitment, tireless work and incredible motivation and the finalists and winners here tonight have successfully demonstrated their ability to do that,” she said.

The Awards also celebrated the REIQ’s centennial birthday, marking 100 years of shaping the Queensland real estate profession.

“We were founded with the twin goals of giving a voice to the real estate profession so they could negotiate with government and also to raise the bar and deliver greater levels of professionalism within the ranks of all practicing real estate professionals,” Ms Mercorella said.

“Our successes speak for themselves. We have shaped legislation with the Property Occupations Act replacing the ineffectual PAMDA Act, and the Labor Government has recently committed to introducing mandatory continuing professional development across the entire real estate sector, thus lifting the level of compulsory education every real estate practitioner in Queensland must do.

“As the leading training provider for the real estate sector we are directly contributing to delivering well-trained, professional practitioners into the workforce every day. And our members have been committed to completing 100 points of CPD every year as part of their membership.

“It’s gratifying that these achievements have been delivered as we celebrate a century of representing the real estate profession,” she said.

Winners list 

Category Name  Company  
Auctioneer of the Year  Justin Nickerson  Apollo Auctions 
Best Media Report of the Year  Ellen Lutton   Domain
Business Broker of the Year   John Kasapi  Benchmark Business Sales & Valuations 
Business Development Manager of the Year   Jessica King   MPM Property  
Buyers' Agency of the Year     Propertyology 
Buyers' Agent of the Year   Euan Rose  Propertyology  
Commercial Agency of the Year   Colliers International Gold Coast 
Commercial Salesperson of the Year  Mike Walsh   CBRE Brisbane 
Community Service Award  Tracy Leske   Cherish Property  
Corporate Support Person of the Year  Emily-Jane Megraw   LJ Hooker Nerang  
Innovation Award    @Realty  
Large Residential Agency of the Year Harcourts Coastal  
Medium Residential Agency of the Year    Solutions Property Management North Lakes 
Regional Residential Agency of the Year    Kingsberry Harcourts  
Regional Salesperson of the Year  Damian Raxach   One Agency Hervey  Bay  
Residential Property Manager of the Year  Laura Valenti   Solutions Property Management North Lakes
Residential Salesperson of the Year  Nyree Ewings   LJ Hooker Cleveland  
Rookie of the Year  Jamie Smith  Century 21 on Duporth  
Small Residential Agency of the Year    Xperience Realty 


Media enquiries:
Felicity Moore: 
T: 07 3249 7300
M: 0408 020 428

Harcourts Coastal  
Harcourts Coastal  
Harcourts Coastal  


  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010