Felicity Moore

In an overwhelming show of support, the REIQ membership voted today to change the Constitution, reserving two Member Director positions for women and one for an under-35 Member Director.

To change the Constitution, a special resolution requires support from 75 per cent of the membership. 
These changes mark a shift for the 100-year-old organisation, signifying a drive to ensure greater diversity in the boardroom and bringing it into line with modern corporate Australia.

“Women make up 50.6 per cent of the population in Queensland and yet they are under-represented at a boardroom level throughout the state,” REIQ Chairman Peter Brewer said.

“Governments and corporations are introducing these targets to ensure that a range of ideas from diverse backgrounds are heard at all levels and the REIQ is among them,” Mr Brewer said.
In its 100 year history, the REIQ membership has elected only seven women to the Board and only one under-35-year-old Member Director.

This Constitutional change reflects the new three-year strategic plan that focuses on being more inclusive and developing a deeper understanding of our membership.

“Like all membership organisations, we are struggling to connect with younger people and we want to make sure that our decisions are made with the entire membership in mind, reflecting the diverse range of voices and experiences that go into our Queensland real estate practitioners,” he said.

The REIQ CEO is Antonia Mercorella, the first female CEO to be appointed to the role.

The REIQ Board already mandates two positions reserved for regional Queensland members.

The changes to the Constitution will roll out over the next two years and be in full effect by 2020.

The REIQ is the peak body for real estate practitioners throughout Queensland, representing more than 15,000 real estate agents, property managers, buyers agents, business brokers, auctioneers and commercial & industrial agents.


Media enquiries:
Felicity Moore: 
T: 07 3249 7300
M: 0408 020 428


  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010